And the job search continues…

Let me preface this post by saying I don’t mean this to be a sob story – because I’m incredibly grateful what I do have – but, long story short, I’ve been on the hunt for a new job.  With my recently acquired Master’s degree under my belt I really want to segway into a job more in line with what I’m interested in, and let me tell you, it’s not easy.  I’ve been scouring job postings for entry-level jobs in marketing, public relations, and communications and nearly every entry-level job requires ‘3 to 5 years’ of experience.

 Hold up.

This doesn’t make sense to me.  Now don’t get me wrong, I understand that in today’s job market individuals are expected to have completed internships to gain some real world experience – and I’ve done some of those myself.  My issue is that, realistically, it’s not easy to work as an intern (often unpaid) for three years when I have rent, bills, and student loans to pay.  My other issue: I work hard. I don’t like not knowing how to do something and I’ll admit, I’m competitive and I don’t like being second best, so for me, even though I might lack experience, I know that I could take on most of these jobs and grasp them pretty quickly.  I don’t want anything handed to me, but I do want a company to take a chance on me (I’m not stupid, I know that the chances of some fairy-godmother company sweeping me up are pretty slim – but a girl can dream).

So all in all, I feel forced into a corner – a corner where I’m applying for retail and somewhat secretarial customer service jobs because I don’t ‘qualify’ for entry-level jobs in the fields I want to work in.  Frustrating to say the least, but such is life, so all I can do is keep pushing and trying to get experience all on my own.  And if anyone wants to see my resume…no seriously, if want to see it, please ask.

No one ever said success was easy, right?

About noramf25

A twenty-something girl from NY, living in Portland, OR trying to make sense of life and a career. Ready for adventure.

Leave a Reply

Follow noramf25 on WordPress.com

Connect

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

