A New Year, A New Blog – Mixing Things Up

I know, I know – I’ve been terrible at posting anything recently! Bear with me though, I’ve had a lot on my plate what with finishing up this semester, transitioning jobs and navigating a career path, and…successfully finishing my graduate program!

That’s right, you’re now looking at a girl who has a Master’s Degree in Management Communications! Admittedly, I feel happy and sad all at once about it. On the one hand, I’m incredibly proud of myself – for moving 3,000 miles away from everyone I knew and cared about, creating a life for myself on the West Coast (or the ‘left coast’ as my brother calls it), growing and changing as a person, and for finding out a lot about myself in the process! On the other hand, it feels so alien and strange to know I’m done with my formal education – I’ve been in school straight for the last 18 years and the nerd in me loved every minute, from the friends I made to what I learned to who I became because of it. It’s also more than slightly overwhelming, because now I need to pay off student loans, and launch a career – which is surprisingly challenging considering that most entry-level marketing, PR, or communications positions want more experience than I have – all while balancing my desire to be young and live this ‘perfect’ life with friends and a cool apartment and amazing experiences.

So originally, I started this blog for a class assignment and – since the class was about social media – a lot of my posts were geared around social media, digital technologies, and the class itself. Now don’t get me wrong, I love social media and I have a strange fascination with it – its reach, power, how it works and ebbs and flows – but I’m going to be switching gears a little here. I’ll still focus on social media, but I’m going to throw a bunch of other things in here too; marketing, digital media, personal revelations or accomplishments, stories that make me sit up and think, really anything I come across as I try to figure out my life. This will – I hope – work itself into a place for me to share what’s on my mind, but also a place for me to continue learning (about anything really).

In honor of the new year and the changes I’ll be making here, I’ve changed my design up a little too – let me know what you think…and Happy New Year!

About noramf25

A twenty-something girl from NY, living in Portland, OR trying to make sense of life and a career. Ready for adventure.

Leave a Reply

Follow noramf25 on WordPress.com

Connect

